The Wonder of Your Mercy…

I have often found that people who are not (yet!) born again in Jesus Christ do not “get” the whole concept of forgiveness, mercy and grace via the Cross. I see that there are people who think Christians are “arrogant;” and thus surmise that “we think we are better” than everyone else. Nothing could be further from the truth!

Repentance for sin is a MUST  before we can take part in the forgiveness, mercy and grace given to us through the shed blood at the cross of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

Isaiah reminds us of our true condition before the Cross of Christ cleanses us:

Isa 64:6

But we are all like an unclean thing,
And all our righteousnesses are like filthy rags;
We all fade as a leaf,
And our iniquities, like the wind,
Have taken us away.

We know that being born again does not mean we are perfect. We will still have to live with a sinful nature (here on earth), but because of what Christ did for us, we DESIRE to live for Him more fully and avoid the occasion of sin.

In a later verse, Isaiah shares hope for us:

Isa 64:8

But now, O LORD,
You are our Father;
We are the clay, and You our potter;
And all we are the work of Your hand.

This past weekend, a non-believer told my son that he thinks that, “the Christian faith is a beautiful religion.” This is the adult young man who encouraged me to read Eckhart Tolle’s book, “The Power of Now.” They had a great conversation, and although I didn’t hear all of it I was so proud of my son for witnessing to him! Near the end of the conversation, my son also shared that there are religious off-shoots of Christianity (i.e. Mormonism and Jehovah’s Witnesses) that do not adhere to the general revelation of God nor the Scriptures that have “once been delivered to the saints.” He didn’t use those exact words, but that was the gist of it. At that point, the young man objected to “bashing” someone else’s beliefs. I’m sure that this was because Tolle’s book (and teachings) combine some Christianity, Buddhism, and Gnosticism; therefore, we must be “tolerant” of other religions. When they briefly touched on the “religion” of Islam, the young man stuck to the liberal leftist stance that the religion has been “hijacked” by a radical few. My son didn’t try to change his mind on that issue (would take too long anyway), but the next time I see this young man I will mention the “tenet” of “taqiyya” within Islam which allows any Muslim to lie in order to advance their global jihad political Caliphate plans via claims of being a “religion of peace.”

All in all, it was a great conversation to observe! I was so encouraged that my son is not worried about political correctness [PC] when sharing the Truth with others.

PC is what is constantly used against Christians in order to shut them up.

One of the tools being used by the PC and “tolerance” crowd is the “coexist” movement.  What is ironic is the fact that the PC crowd (usually the liberal leftist side of the political spectrum)  ignores the reality of the danger presented by Islam and many who live in the PC universe spew claims that Christians are not tolerant.  Well, many Christians would whole-heartedly disagree!  Here is why:

The following graphic describes what is REALLY behind the “Coexist” bumper sticker and movement, quite well!

H/T for graphic: Watchman’s Bagpipes blog

Hat tips to all links.

Mercy Lyrics

from Your Grace Finds Me
I will kneel in the dust
At the foot of the cross,
Where mercy paid for me.
Where the wrath I deserve,
It is gone, it has passed.
Your blood has hidden me.

Mercy, mercy,
As endless as the sea.
I’ll sing Your hallelujah
For all eternity.

We will lift up the cup
And the bread we will break,
Remembering Your love.
We were fallen from grace,
But You took on our shame
And nailed it to a cross.

Mercy, mercy,
As endless as the sea.
I’ll sing Your hallelujah
For all eternity.

Mercy, mercy,
As endless as the sea.
I’ll sing Your hallelujah
For all eternity.

May I never lose the wonder,
Oh, the wonder of Your mercy.
May I sing Your hallelujah.
Hallelujah, Amen.

May I never lose the wonder,
Oh, the wonder of Your mercy.
May I sing Your hallelujah.
Hallelujah, Amen.

May I never lose the wonder,
Oh, the wonder of Your mercy.
May I sing Your hallelujah.
Hallelujah, Amen.

May I never lose the wonder,
Oh, the wonder of Your mercy.
May I sing Your hallelujah.
Hallelujah, Amen.

May I never lose the wonder,
Oh, the wonder of Your mercy.
May I sing Your hallelujah.
Hallelujah, Amen.

I will kneel in the dust
At the foot of the cross,
Where mercy paid for me.

Read more: Matt Redman – Mercy Lyrics | MetroLyrics

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

