Church, Family, Lucy and Pasta! Happy Times!

There was so much to love about this past weekend, so I thought I would share part of it in a personal story here at my blog.

On Easter Sunday, my husband and I attended a fairly new church (almost 3 years old) up in Studio City, LA [Legacy City Church] with our daughter, her husband and their 17 month old daughter, Lucy.

Since our son and daughter-in-law were out-of-town, we decided to spend Resurrection Sunday up in LA this year.  Our son had attended this church last year with his sister’s family because I was laid up for 2 weeks with a slow healing pulled muscle in my back, unable to attend church last Easter.  Our son said that the message was very good and biblically based, so we thought we would attend for this year’s Easter message.

Well, we weren’t disappointed! Pastor Josh Thompson delivered an awesome message [See them here: Legacy Church Sermons], the worship music was contemporary and beautiful (two of my favorites):

1. Forever by Kari Jobe

2. What a Beautiful Name it is – The Name of Jesus.

We all sat in the last row so that one of us could take Lucy outside in case she got fussy and wanted to walk around.

When the song “Forever” came on, she was given to me.

As I worshipped Jesus through that song with my sweet granddaughter in my arms, the tears just flowed from my eyes! It was a “first” for me – the first opportunity to sing that worship song with her! She was so good! It was like she loved the song and enjoyed hearing me sing along to it while I was standing, rocking back and forth with her in my arms!

My son-in-law Tyler asked if she was getting heavy and if he should hold her for a while. I said no…I’m fine!  Actually, she didn’t even feel heavy.   That special moment of time will remain with me forever!

Near the end of the service, Tyler took Lucy out again to walk around. After the service was over, I asked my daughter Jenna what time our reservations were at a certain restaurant nearby. She said, “half an hour ago.” Uh oh…we were already a half hour late! Well, we found out that Tyler had taken Lucy to the car and he called the restaurant to tell them that we would be late. They had already given our reservation away! Personally, I was glad. That particular restaurant had a salmonella problem (which Tyler and Jenna didn’t know about)  in recent months and I really didn’t want to go there! Fortunately, an Italian restaurant in the same area had tables open! A prayer answered! I REALLY didn’t want to go to the other place!   I’ve experienced food poisoning before and it took days to recover! We went to the Italian restaurant and we all were so glad we did! The limited menu was reasonably priced and everything was so delicious!

Lucy was getting restless.  When that happens, it’s time to put “Elmie” (what she calls Elmo from Sesame Street!) on the cell phone.  She absolutely loves her Elmie!  Of course, my daughter limits the TV time with her, but it is a life saver while in an elegant restaurant!

As we enjoyed our meals, Tyler took some pasta and cut it up on the table for Lucy. The look on Jenna’s face was one of disbelief as she tried to quietly tell him, “Tyler!!! You are cutting up the food on a cloth tablecloth!” There was red pasta sauce all over Lucy’s spot at the table! When Tyler realized that the usual disposable plastic mat wasn’t put down, he grabbed a plate and put the food on it! We all laughed so hard! It was so funny! Afterwards, he tried to cover the spot with his beige cloth napkin.

When the waitress came over to check on us, she just shrugged it off.  She was so sweet.

We had such a great time all weekend! Spending special holidays with family is the best! And, as our granddaughter grows up, learns more words (“No” is a big one! LOL!) and as she becomes more aware of things, laughs with us, cuddles with us, and interacts with us in new ways, it is just such an absolute joy!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

