Hillsong UNITED Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)

This is such a beautiful worship song!

When I find a worship song that I love, I try to memorize the lyrics. After doing so, I sing the song to myself throughout mundane tasks being done and think about the meaning of the lyrics. Then, I can often apply the lyrics to my own life.

Lyrics from “Oceans (Where Feet May Fail):

Verse #1
You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown, where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep, my faith will stand

Recall when Peter made the request of Jesus to command him to come out upon the water in order to meet Jesus as our Lord was walking on water in Matthew 14:22-33?

Mat 14:22

Immediately Jesus made His disciples get into the boat and go before Him to the other side, while He sent the multitudes away.

Mat 14:23

And when He had sent the multitudes away, He went up on the mountain by Himself to pray. Now when evening came, He was alone there.

Mat 14:24

But the boat was now in the middle of the sea, [fn] tossed by the waves, for the wind was contrary.

Mat 14:25

Now in the fourth watch of the night Jesus went to them, walking on the sea.

Mat 14:26

And when the disciples saw Him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, “It is a ghost!” And they cried out for fear.

Mat 14:27

But immediately Jesus spoke to them, saying, “Be of good cheer! It is I; do not be afraid.”

Mat 14:28

And Peter answered Him and said, “Lord, if it is You, command me to come to You on the water.”

Mat 14:29

So He said, “Come.” And when Peter had come down out of the boat, he walked on the water to go to Jesus.

Mat 14:30

But when he saw that the wind was boisterous, [fn] he was afraid; and beginning to sink he cried out, saying, “Lord, save me!”

Mat 14:31

And immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and caught him, and said to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?”

Mat 14:32

And when they got into the boat, the wind ceased.

Mat 14:33

Then those who were in the boat came and [fn] worshiped Him, saying, “Truly You are the Son of God.”

Remember, this miracle was done directly after the miracle of the transformation from five loaves of bread and two fish into bushels full of both to feed the multitudes that had gathered to hear Jesus speak.

Matthew 13 is where Jesus spoke in parables, and explained (via the parable of the sower) exactly how some people would react to his words and the Gospel message back then, as well as in the future.

There are some who will not “see” nor “hear” (seed [Word of God] fell by the wayside and the birds came and devoured it).

There are some who will “see” and “hear,” but their hearts will wander later (seed [Word of God] fell on stony ground) because there was “no depth of earth” and the sun came and scorched the plant that quickly had sprung up, and so the plant then withered away.

Then, there are some that fell among the thorns, and the thorns “choked” that seed [Word of God] away.

Finally, Jesus describes the seed [Word of God] that “fell on good ground and yielded a crop: some a hundredfold, some sixty, some thirty.”

The disciples asked why Jesus spoke in parables. Jesus explained that it was done in fulfillment of the prophets (like Isaiah):

Mat 13:14

“And in them the prophecy of Isaiah is fulfilled, which says:

‘Hearing you will hear and shall not understand,
And seeing you will see and not perceive;

Mat 13:15

For the hearts of this people have grown dull.
Their ears are hard of hearing,
And their eyes they have closed,
Lest they should see with their eyes and hear with their ears,
Lest they should understand with their hearts and turn,
So that I should [fn] heal them.’ [fn]

[fn] Isaiah 6:9,10

Isa 6:9

And He said, “Go, and tell this people:

‘Keep on hearing, but do not understand;
Keep on seeing, but do not perceive.’

Isa 6:10

“Make the heart of this people dull,
And their ears heavy,
And shut their eyes;
Lest they see with their eyes,
And hear with their ears,
And understand with their heart,
And return and be healed.”

Prior to these verses in Isaiah, we learn that Isaiah humbled himself, claiming that he was not worthy to be in the presence of God. But look what happens!

Isa 6:6

Then one of the seraphim flew to me, having in his hand a live coal which he had taken with the tongs from the altar.

Isa 6:7

And he touched my mouth with it, and said:

“Behold, this has touched your lips;
Your iniquity is taken away,
And your sin purged.”

Isa 6:8

Also I heard the voice of the Lord, saying:

“Whom shall I send,
And who will go for Us?”
Then I said, “Here am I! Send me.”

Isaiah INSTANTLY was changed from doubt in himself as being unworthy to do the tasks that God had planned for him to do, into a believer who answered the LORD (who had said: “Whom shall I send, And who will go for Us?”) by saying: “Then I said, “Here am I! Send me.”

Mat 13:52

Then He [Jesus speaking] said to them, “Therefore every scribe instructed concerning [fn] the kingdom of heaven is like a householder who brings out of his treasure things new and old.”

[fn] (13:52) Or for

 

Lyrics from “Oceans (Where Feet May Fail):

Chorus:
And I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours, and You are mine

 

Isaiah was an example of “resting in the LORD’s embrace. He is God’s, and God is his.

Lyrics from “Oceans (Where Feet May Fail):

Verse #2
Your grace abounds in deepest waters
Your sovereign hand will be my guide
Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me
You’ve never failed, and You won’t start now

In the succeeding chapters of Isaiah, his prophesying became more and more rich because his renewed faith in God held back worries of failure and fear!

Lyrics from “Oceans (Where Feet May Fail):

Chorus:
So I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours, and You are mine

Bridge:
Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior x 5

Ending:
I will call upon Your name
Keep my eyes above the waves
My soul will rest in Your embrace
I am Yours, and You are mine

Songwriters
JOEL HOUSTON, MATT CROCKER, SALOMON LIGHTHELM

Published by
Lyrics © EMI Music Publishing

Read more: Hillsong United – Oceans (Where Feet May Fail) Lyrics | MetroLyrics

*******

As born-again believers in the Lord Jesus Christ, we are to share the Gospel – planting seeds among those not yet redeemed. It is the work of the Holy Spirit that first knocks on the “door” of the heart, and then indwells the heart of each individual. Repentance of sin at the foot of the Cross, remission of that sin through the spilled blood, and acceptance of Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior of one’s life will bring each individual lost person to salvation. When the mercy, grace, and love of God enters the soul and heart of a person, they are redeemed of God through Christ; and then they are willing and able to do good works – great and small – for the Kingdom of God.

 

Lyrics from “Oceans (Where Feet May Fail):

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

