In A Personal Story Segment…

Several  readers, friends, and family members already know that I admit to being “techie” challenged.  It is one of the reasons why  I don’t want to switch my old dashboard here to the new and improved one being offered by WordPress.com.  The same goes for my cell phone.

I had an old flip phone for 8 years.  The guys at Verizon told me it was a classic.  Yep…keeping a cell  phone more than 2 years is unheard of these days!   But when my husband wanted to get me a good birthday present, I finally decided to upgrade to the iPhone 4s.  This was a few years ago, but I was good to go for another 5 years!  Well, that phone started acting weird a few weeks ago.  At first, I wasn’t getting the  traditional beep when I was getting a text message.  Then, I couldn’t hear my phone ringing – even when the volume was up high.  Callers later told me that their calls were automatically going immediately to voicemail.  A day or two later, I was getting a blank screen with some lines across it whenever I tried to retrieve my email.  I had to face the truth – my phone was probably dead.

Well, my daughter said to me via an email, “Mom – you can’t be without a cell phone!  Go get a new one!”  I must admit, it was weird not to have a cell phone to check over the previous few days.  It’s kind of true that after all these years, it had become attached to me – either at the hip when in my pocket or when it was right under my arm in my purse!

Fortunately, my husband bought the new giant iPhone 7…(or is it 8?  I can’t keep track) so he gave me his “old” iPhone 5s to use in case my 4s wasn’t fixable.  I wasn’t interested in the big phone that he had just purchased.  I need a slim, small one that fits in the back pocket of my jeans.

On the advice of my husband, I took my phone to the nearest Apple store to see if it could be saved.  I sat at the “Genius” table, and one by one, two nice technicians came over, asking me questions.  I told them about the problems I was having, and they asked me if I had backed up my phone on I Cloud.  I said I wasn’t sure, but I think that my husband backed it up for me once – several years ago!   Oh great…I thought.  Here comes bad news.  Well, they had to empty the phone of its contents in order to see if it could be saved, and unfortunately, they found that it couldn’t be saved.  My iPhone 4s was officially dead.

I recalled that my husband sometimes mentioned to me that I needed to go to the iTunes site and back up my phone through I Cloud…but what busy woman has time for that?  Anyway, the Apple technicians tried to help me access the site that my husband set up, but they said that there wasn’t any content there for my phone!  I was SO SAD because this probably meant that I had lost everything that was on my phone – including hundreds of photos in two albums!  *sigh*  Lesson learned… 😦

The nice man at Apple told me that I could go over to the Verizon kiosk right there in the same mall.  He told me that I would need to purchase a $10.00 SIM card and have them transfer my number to the iPhone 5s.

Well, long story short is that I happened to get a newbie guy at the kiosk who took 1 1/2 hours trying to do the transfer!  I should have known I was in trouble when he started chatting with me and mentioned that he would rather be working at Nordstrom!  He was a young guy – probably in his mid twenties.  To pass the time (as he fumbled with the transfer), he kept asking if the photo on my husband’s former iPhone 5s was of my daughter being walked down the aisle at her wedding …or was it actually me with my husband?  I was thinking…That doesn’t even make any sense!  Nice try bud…however, I finally had to advise him that after 3 such compliments, FIRST magazine says that a person starts suspecting that they really aren’t genuine. Ha hah!

Next, a guy who was supposed to be the manager at the kiosk came over and tried to solve the problem.  Even he was having difficulty!  I asked to use their landline to call my husband and tell him what was going on.  The newbie guy dialed the number and handed me the receiver.  My husband told me to just buy a new phone!  I said no…his former iPhone is perfectly good!  These guys just need to find out what the problem is!

After about another 15 minutes, I recalled what the guy in the Apple store told me – “you need to buy a new SIM card.”  Guess what?  That’s what I told the guys at the Verizon kiosk and voila’!…the transfer FINALLY  went through!  Now…why didn’t I tell them that the moment I sat down at that kiosk?  I had the answer all along – but didn’t share it with them.  I figured that they must know a LOT more than I do about such things and maybe the SIM card is reusable?  Answer:  NO!  Not when you are attempting to transfer another number to a used iPhone! 

Another lesson learned.

Oh, but the good news is that some of my photos were saved because apparently, they were being automatically uploaded to the I Cloud!  My husband was able to retrieve them from the I Cloud that he set up on my home computer a while back.

Some of the photos I had were lost.  The great photos that friends and family members had sent to me (including ones of our daughter’s wedding in April) were all missing.  Hopefully, I can ask to have them resent to me.  This time, I will be sure to back them up on my computer!

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

