Why Do I Believe In Jesus Christ?

I could call this essay my “very late Easter” post since I didn’t create a post about it this year.  However, I decided to bring a comment from a previous post up here so that more people (hopefully) will see and read it.  This blogment (a new word describing a comment becoming a blog post) was in response to GMPilot’s displeasure that I “quote the Bible” at him.  Well…after all, I am a Christian and I study the Bible!  What else would one expect in my responses?  This blog was originally created to share the Gospel of Christ, along with exposing the destructive social and political issues of our time.  The goals of this blog are written at the top of the page:

Talk Wisdom’s goal is to defend the tenets and values of Biblical Christian faith. We defend our Constitutional Republic and Charters of Freedom, especially when speaking out against destructive social and political issues. As followers of our Savior and Lord, we should boldly stand up for Jesus Christ in our present circumstances. He is our Savior, Lord, and King, and His love needs to be shed abroad in our hearts and in our world – now.
I have been asked, “why do I believe in Jesus Christ?” by a few people in my life.  Admittedly, it is often difficult to communicate all that I would love to tell them without leaving something important out of the explanation.  I think that my response to GM (below) is a work in progress.  It helps me to explain to non-believers examples of the fulfillment of biblical prophecy, (which were written in the Old Testament, hundreds of years before Christ’s birth, ministry, death and resurrection to life); all of which cement my faith in Jesus as being the true Messiah who was, and is, and is to come.
Here is my response to Mr. Pilot:

Hmmm…seems you dislike being quoted the Bible. You certainly are not alone in such an offense. Those who hate Christianity, the Cross of Calvary, and Jesus Christ himself have their own humanistic reasons for thinking such beliefs are offensive.

 

Well, here are some reasons why:

 

1. Offense

Isa 8:14

He will be as a sanctuary,
But a stone of stumbling and a rock of offense
To both the houses of Israel,
As a trap and a snare to the inhabitants of Jerusalem.

Mat 16:23

But He turned and said to Peter, “Get behind Me, Satan! You are an offense to Me, for you are not mindful of the things of God, but the things of men.”

Mat 18:7

“Woe to the world because of offenses! For offenses must come, but woe to that man by whom the offense comes!

Rom 9:33

As it is written:

“Behold, I lay in Zion a stumbling stone and rock of offense,
And whoever believes on Him will not be put to shame.” [fn]

1Pe 2:8

and

“A stone of stumbling
And a rock of offense.” [fn]
They stumble, being disobedient to the word, to which they also were appointed.

 

2.  However, the Bible also reveals why those who belong to Christ do not find offense to the gospel:

Hos 5:15

I will return again to My place
Till they acknowledge their offense.
Then they will seek My face;
In their affliction they will earnestly seek Me.”

Rom 5:15

But the free gift is not like the offense. For if by the one man’s offense many died, much more the grace of God and the gift by the grace of the one Man, Jesus Christ, abounded to many.

Rom 5:16

And the gift is not like that which came through the one who sinned. For the judgment which came from one offense resulted in condemnation, but the free gift which came from many offenses resulted in justification.

Rom 5:18

Therefore, as through one man’s offense judgment came to all men, resulting in condemnation, even so through one Man’s righteous act the free gift came to all men, resulting in justification of life.

Rom 5:20

Moreover the law entered that the offense might abound. But where sin abounded, grace abounded much more,

Phl 1:10

that you may approve the things that are excellent, that you may be sincere and without offense till the day of Christ,

 

3.  Because of sin and the refusal to repent, those who do not accept the great gift of Jesus Christ’s sacrifice on the cross are bitter because they are perishing:

2Co 4:3

But even if our gospel is veiled, it is veiled to those who are perishing,

 

4.  It is a spiritual renewal taking place in the believer:

2Co 4:16

Therefore we do not lose heart. Even though our outward man is perishing, yet the inward man is being renewed day by day.

 

5.  The resentment of those who despise the Gospel is clear when they become reviled at the cross of Christ and the salvation of believers:

2Co 2:15

For we are to God the fragrance of Christ among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing.

1Co 1:18

For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.

 

6.  Jesus told us that unregenerate man would hate us, just as they hated Him first:

Jhn 15:18

“If the world hates you, you know that it hated Me before it hated you.

Jhn 15:25

“But this happened that the word might be fulfilled which is written in their law, ‘They hated Me without a cause.’ [fn]

[The above verse is a fulfillment of prophecy]

Psa 69:4

Those who hate me without a cause
Are more than the hairs of my head;
They are mighty who would destroy me,
Being my enemies wrongfully;
Though I have stolen nothing,
I still must restore it.

 

7.  You see, Jesus Christ is both the offspring and root of David.

Rev 22:16

“I, Jesus, have sent My angel to testify to you these things in the churches. I am the Root and the Offspring of David, the Bright and Morning Star.”

 

8.  Therefore, many of the Psalms apply to both David at the time written, but also Christ in the future.

 

9.  Many more such prophecies are found in Isaiah.

One example:

Isa 7:10

Moreover the LORD spoke again to Ahaz, saying,

Isa 7:11

“Ask a sign for yourself from the LORD your God; ask it either in the depth or in the height above.”

Isa 7:12

But Ahaz said, “I will not ask, nor will I test the LORD!”

Isa 7:13

Then he said, “Hear now, O house of David! Is it a small thing for you to weary men, but will you weary my God also?

Isa 7:14

“Therefore the Lord Himself will give you a sign: Behold, the virgin shall conceive and bear a Son, and shall call His name Immanuel. [fn]

Isa 7:15

“Curds and honey He shall eat, that He may know to refuse the evil and choose the good.

 

10.  Another example of prophesy about Christ in Psalms:

Psa 22:16

For dogs have surrounded Me;
The congregation of the wicked has enclosed Me.
They pierced [fn] My hands and My feet;

Psa 22:17

I can count all My bones.
They look and stare at Me.

Psa 22:18

They divide My garments among them,
And for My clothing they cast lots.

 

11.  And, the fulfillment of the Scripture:

Mat 27:35

Then they crucified Him, and divided His garments, casting lots, [fn] that it might be fulfilled which was spoken by the prophet:

“They divided My garments among them,
And for My clothing they cast lots.” [fn]

Jhn 19:24

They said therefore among themselves, “Let us not tear it, but cast lots for it, whose it shall be,” that the Scripture might be fulfilled which says:

“They divided My garments among them,
And for My clothing they cast lots.” [fn]
Therefore the soldiers did these things.

 

12.  Another example of prophecy written in Psalms, and fulfilled by Jesus:

Psa 34:20

He guards all his bones;
Not one of them is broken.

Jhn 19:36

For these things were done that the Scripture should be fulfilled, “Not one of His bones shall be broken.” [fn]

 

13.  And then, when Jesus was resurrected from the dead and appeared before the disciples, he stated:

Luk 24:39

“Behold My hands and My feet, that it is I Myself. Handle Me and see, for a spirit does not have flesh and bones as you see I have.”

Jhn 15:24

“If I had not done among them the works which no one else did, they would have no sin; but now they have seen and also hated both Me and My Father.

 

14.  Despite all of the miracles Jesus did to show the Jews that He is their Messiah, they still refused to believe in Him.

 

15.  Jesus knew of this betrayal

 

16.  They were a faithless and perverse nation. Sounds a lot like today.

Luk 9:41

Then Jesus answered and said, “O faithless and perverse generation, how long shall I be with you and bear with you? Bring your son here.”

 

17.  But those who repent and turn to Christ, even at the last minute in their eternal lives will be saved.

Luk 23:39

Then one of the criminals who were hanged blasphemed Him, saying, “If You are the Christ, [fn] save Yourself and us.”

Luk 23:40

But the other, answering, rebuked him, saying, “Do you not even fear God, seeing you are under the same condemnation?

Luk 23:41

“And we indeed justly, for we receive the due reward of our deeds; but this Man has done nothing wrong.”

Luk 23:42

Then he said to Jesus, “Lord, [fn] remember me when You come into Your kingdom.”

Luk 23:43

And Jesus said to him, “Assuredly, I say to you, today you will be with Me in Paradise.”

Entire account of this here.

Jhn 19:28

After this, Jesus, knowing [fn] that all things were now accomplished, that the Scripture might be fulfilled, said, “I thirst!”

Jhn 19:30

So when Jesus had received the sour wine, He said, “It is finished!” And bowing His head, He gave up His spirit.

 

18.  But praise God, that’s not the end of the story!

Mat 28:6

“He is not here; for He is risen, as He said. Come, see the place where the Lord lay.

Mat 28:7

“And go quickly and tell His disciples that He is risen from the dead, and indeed He is going before you into Galilee; there you will see Him. Behold, I have told you.”

Mar 16:6

But he said to them, “Do not be alarmed. You seek Jesus of Nazareth, who was crucified. He is risen! He is not here. See the place where they laid Him.

Luk 24:6

“He is not here, but is risen! Remember how He spoke to you when He was still in Galilee,

Rom 8:34

Who is he who condemns? It is Christ who died, and furthermore is also risen, who is even at the right hand of God, who also makes intercession for us.

 

19. Ultimately, being a Christian is about being redeemed and forgiven!

 

20.  I pray that each person who reads this post seriously considers their answer when Jesus asks them:

21.   Who do you say that I am?

Mat 16:15

He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?”

Mar 8:29

He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?” Peter answered and said to Him, “You are the Christ.”

Luk 9:20

He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?” Peter answered and said, “The Christ of God.”

Image Credit: http://www.sunnyshell.org/2013/02/ jesus-christ-sympathizer-or-savior.html

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

16 Responses to “Why Do I Believe In Jesus Christ?”

  1. Cry and Howl Says:

    Reblogged this on Cry and Howl.

    Like

  2. Gunny G Says:

    Reblogged this on CLINGERS… BLOGGING BAD ~ DICK.G: AMERICAN !.

    Like

  3. Paul Lemmen Says:

    Reblogged this on Dead Citizen's Rights Society.

    Like

  4. christinewjc Says:

    Many thanks to all three of you for choosing to re-blog this post!

    The message came from my heart of hearts, and of course, the eternal truth from God’s Word.

    It is my prayer to share the Gospel of Christ via this little-known blog.

    All glory and honor and praise goes to Him!

    In Christ,

    Christine

    Liked by 1 person

  5. christinewjc Says:

    The question remains: What do YOU think of Jesus?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Remembering Dad | Talk Wisdom Says:

    […] Talk Wisdom's goal is to defend the tenets and values of Biblical Christian faith. We defend our Constitutional Republic and Charters of Freedom, especially when speaking out against destructive social and political issues. As followers of our Savior and Lord, we should boldly stand up for Jesus Christ in our present circumstances. He is our Savior, Lord, and King, and His love needs to be shed abroad in our hearts and in our world – now. « Why Do I Believe In Jesus Christ? […]

    Liked by 1 person

  7. allen993 Says:

    I Believe In Jesus Christ Because I Am Born Again Christian And
    A True Believer In The Lord And He Is My Savior And My God An
    d The One Is The Word Preexisted With The Father And He Is Al
    so My King And Master Of My Heart And Soul! That’s My King!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • christinewjc Says:

      I’m so glad that you took the time to read my “Remembering Dad” post. It is a spiritual experience that I will never forget!

      Jesus IS the King! There is no other…and one day every knee shall bow before Him.

      Isa 45:23

      I have sworn by Myself;
      The word has gone out of My mouth in righteousness,
      And shall not return,
      That to Me every knee shall bow,
      Every tongue shall take an oath.

      Rom 14:11

      For it is written:

      “As I live, says the LORD,
      Every knee shall bow to Me,
      And every tongue shall confess to God.” [fn]

      Liked by 1 person

  8. allen993 Says:

    I Think Of Jesus As The Divine Son Of God And God Himself In Hu
    man Form And The Holy One Of God And The Light To The World!

    Liked by 1 person

    • christinewjc Says:

      Yes allen993 – Your description of Jesus is accurate and biblical! He is THE only One who provides the path to salvation for mankind; through repentance of our sin at the foot of the cross, accepting Him as Lord and Savior of our lives, and the indwelling within our hearts of the Holy Spirit of God! We are then born again!

      Like

  9. PARTNERING WITH EAGLES Says:

    I finally read this today; I’d saved it in my inbox, an e-mail from Cry and Howl. 2014 started out as one of the most trying years of my life, so many messages went unread. God got me through it, but the month of January can take a long walk off a short pier from now on…
    Good to have read this. One thing – What did you mean with the frequent “[fn]” throughout the post? What am I not getting?

    Liked by 1 person

    • christinewjc Says:

      Hello Larry – and welcome to Talk Wisdom! Thank you for reading this post. I was sorry to read that this past year has been a difficult one for you. Sometimes, in our darkest times, we need the love, mercy and grace that God provides us all – and take it to heart despite all of the awful turmoil that is going on in the world. Personal pain and loss always takes time to get over. I still grieve over the loss of my dad 20 years ago to lung cancer. But knowing that he is with Jesus (because he became born again to Christ just five months before he died) is an eternal kind of comfort that cannot be taken away.

      Scripture tells us what the fruit of the Spirit includes:

      Gal 5:22

      But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,

      Gal 5:23

      gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law

      Notice that it includes “longsuffering.” The Bible is an honest book – pointing out the righteousness of God while exposing the sinfulness (and the suffering that it causes) of man.

      As followers of Christ, these verses in Ephesians include what the fruit of the Spirit is; but it also tells us to expose evil when and where we see it:

      Eph 5:8

      For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Walk as children of light

      Eph 5:9

      (for the fruit of the Spirit [fn] is in all goodness, righteousness, and truth),

      Eph 5:10

      finding out what is acceptable to the Lord.

      Eph 5:11

      And have no fellowship with the unfruitful works of darkness, but rather expose them.

      [fn] – [(5:9)
      NU-Text reads light.]

      Thank you for your service in the U.S. Navy for our beloved nation! I peeked at your blog and read some of what you have written. Thank you for being willing to expose “the unfruitful works of darkness” in your posts! I plan to visit and read more.

      May you have a blessed new year!

      ~ Christine

      P.S. [fn] within the Bible verses means “footnote.” Thanks for pointing that out to me – I need to remember to include the footnotes when they appear in the NKJV at Blue Letter Bible.

      Like

  10. PARTNERING WITH EAGLES Says:

    Use this link on my posting to comment on Larry’s blog, found at Clash Daily. I’m not Larry.
    [ Written by Larry Usoff on December 29, 2014]
    I use a pseudonym on the web; Just call me “X” .

    Like

Leave a Reply

