Do Not Be Afraid

Update 5/15/14

This post went to drafts, untitled, yesterday.  It is amazing how events transpired afterwards, which gave this post even more meaning and a choice for the title!  Read on to see why.

~ Christine

Jesus stated in John 14:27:

 

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you.

I do not give to you as the world gives.

Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

John 14:27

 

My post that was started and written 5/14/14:

While trying to recall the name and artist of a beautifully encouraging song that  I had heard yesterday, I just happened to click on what is trending as “most popular” on You tube.   There, was a video in that category which showed a democratic representative from Florida picking dirt and wax from his ear and eating it. It had over 900,000 views! Maybe kids in 5th grade might be enthralled with such a thing, but 900,000 views?

I find that when I don’t watch much news or cruddy TV shows, movies, or reality shows, my mind enjoys what Scripture describes in this beautiful Bible verse:

Phl 4:8

Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.

While channel surfing last evening, I ran across a show called, “True Tori.” It’s a reality show about Tori Spelling and her cheating husband Dean McDermott. Why would anyone in their right mind devise a TV show that spatters all of their dirty laundry, while making the claim to want to “save” their marriage? It could only be for the money.

I feel bad for the kids of selfish, narcissistic, screwed up celebrities that do such things for the sake of grabbing public attention (and money!) in order to keep them “relevant.” One day, this particular  couple’s  four children are going to grow up and the videos of these fighting and cursing parents will live on through eternity.  What a sad state of affairs!

I like to celebrate good, working, ambitious, creative, and loving people! Those who have, and associate with  such great family members and friends KNOW how wonderful it is to have God as their cornerstone in life. Such joy can’t help but rub off onto their children, extended family members, friends, and acquaintances.

I truly believe that people can’t accomplish such a life on their own. We all need God first, family second, and job third in order for our lives to truly flourish in goodness, mercy, and grace.

Update 5/15/14

I started this blog post yesterday. I could not recall the name of the song, nor the artist’s name! I did a search for “all Christian music artists,” but still could not find Tanner Clark’s name!

Then…the fires started here in North County, San Diego! Our little town literally became surrounded by 7 fires all around us! I was glued to the TV, following the progression of each of the fires. When the one right next door to us – just a few miles away began burning – we packed up for possible evacuation if the wind shifted and brought the fire our way!

While I was packing, I looked in my closet and tried to decide which clothes to pack. I thought about losing much of what was in my closet if (heaven forbid!) our house burned down. I picked up the newest items that I had purchased.  I was sure to pack my Mother’s Day gifts from my adult children! And as I threw some items into my suitcase, Tanner Clark’s song came back to me!  Below you will find the music video. I sang it to myself throughout the day and found it very comforting. Made me realize that life isn’t made up of “things” because what’s most important is God and His Son, Jesus Christ in my life!  Plus, add in the love of my family and friends! Who could want or need more?

With Jesus in my life, there is no need to be afraid!

 

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Do Not Be Afraid”

  1. Cry and Howl Says:

    Hey Christine! If you have to evacuate (God forbid!) I’ll save room out here in Texas for you and your family! 😉
    Have a good and blessed weekend dear lady!

    Like

  2. christinewjc Says:

    Thank you Steve!

    Isn’t Tanner Clark’s song great and comforting?

    We have been blessed with the protection of Jesus for a second time when fires surrounded our little town back in 2007.

    I’m so sad for those who lost their homes. Arson is suspected in several of the blazes. Who could be so cruel? Heard 2 teenagers are under suspicion.

    God bless you and enjoy your weekend!

    Like

  3. keijo Says:

    I am so thankful for safty life with the truth and encourage daily by the word and from the Lord in the HOly Spirit to not be afraids that very darkness time in alot troubles to follow and we desire more of the power and th efire to keep us in open the eyes to move on ,thanks and bless,keijo sweden

    Like

Leave a Reply

